Bartees Strange

Live Forever

Notify me when this item is released / available

If you're interested in this record then click the Notify me button and we'll let you know if we get it in stock.

The highly anticipated debut full length album from the genre-chemist Bartees Strange. Released via Will Yip's Memory Music label.

Strange grew up in Mustang, Oklahoma, an overwhelmingly white and racist sundown town on the outskirts of Oklahoma City. In Mustang, he says, “I didn’t let myself be seen. I held myself down so I could make people feel more comfortable around me.”

Live Forever is a direct and stunning result of this conviction. It’s impossible to divorce the reality of Strange’s personal trajectory from the intricate and idiosyncratic 13-track saga on record: it spans gentle, Moses Sumney-meets-Yves Jarvis minimalism, Killers-ish indie rock vigor with post-punk cracks in its danceable veneer, the throbbing industrial alt-soul of Algiers, Justin Vernon’s acoustic tenderness, and the volatile, unforgiving production and delivery of Death Grips. Simply put, it is a combination that none but Strange could execute under—and as a result of—precise circumstances.

1. Jealousy
2. Mustang
3. Boomer
4. Kelly Rowland
5. In A Cab
6. Stone Meadows
7. Flagey God
8. Mossblerd
9. Far
10. Fallen For You
11. Ghostly

Bartees Strange Live Forever
BS-LiveForever.png Pre-Order

Item code: BS-LiveForever
Label: Memory Music
Info correct on: 12/8/2020